Thursday, March 3, 2011

Running from Fear

Today on Runner's World they had a poll about your biggest running fears.
I know this is the second time in a week that I'm scamming off of another blog's ideas, but I still can't find my camera...

Tuesday, March 1, 2011

Now You Know My ABCs

I saw this on one of the blogs I follow and figured it would be fun to do.

A. Age: 17 

B. Bed size: Twin. I'm a short kid, I don't need much room...

C. Chore you dislike: Dusting. It makes my eyes water.

D. Dogs: I only have cats, but I want a dog to run with! I love bulldogs, but they're not the running type. I want a black lab named Myars instead. :)

E. Essential start to your day: Breakfast. I just don't understand people who function without it. I love a good bowl of oatmeal in the morning!

F. Favorite color: I really like green. It's subtle, but it still has energy. Plus it makes me feel refreshed.

G. Gold or silver: Gold. Not because of the value, but because of the color. It goes well with my hair.

H. Height: 5'2" but I have a tall personality. ;-)

I. Instruments you play(ed): I BARELY played trumpet, piano, guitar, and violin. 

J. Job title: Intern.

K. Kids: I'm too young to even think about that stuff right now. Maybe I'll adopt later on in life.

L. Live: The good ole peach state.

M. Mom’s name: Debra. Don't call her Debby.

N. Nicknames: Red (for obvious reasons) and Juggerbutters, which came from the nickname jugs...teenage boys can be horrible creatures.

O. Overnight hospital stays: Not sure. If I've ever spent the night at the hospital I was too young to remember. I've slept in hospital lobbies before though. My grandpa had emergency back surgery.

P. Pet peeves: When people claim to be humble but then unceasingly brag on themselves. That makes you a hypocrite AND an egotistical jerk. 

Q. Quote from a movie: "Hello my name is Steve. I come from a rough area. I used to be addicted to crack, but now I am off and trying to stay clean. That is why I am selling magazine subscriptions. I was hoping you could help me out." Ha ha. Oh Office Space.

R. Righty or lefty: Righty.

S. Siblings: Older sister Katie. 8 months older. Ha ha, try to figure that one out.

T. Time you wake up: I wake up sometime in between 6 and 6:30 most days.

U. Underwear: Uninteresting. Anything that will function on a run.

V. Vegetables you don't like: Lettuce, celery, and beets. I like most other other vegetables. LOVE cauliflower, yellow squash, and broccoli.

W. What makes you run late: Family members. I'm always early when I'm going somewhere on my own.

X. X-rays you’ve had: None...

Y. Yummy food you make: I'm not a very good cook, but I love steaming and roasting vegetables.

Z. Zoo animal favorites: I don't really like zoos, but I think otters are adorable!

Monday, February 28, 2011

Achy Shins

So I'll be posting an entry about my race two weeks ago as soon as I find my camera. It's gone missing...
But I ran another race yesterday afternoon and placed third in my age bracket!
I did a lot better than I expected, considering that my legs are still on the mend from last week.
It was a fairly challenging course, with the second miles being almost completely uphill. It was also pretty hot, being at 2 in the afternoon. 

I finished in 25:58. 

Not splendid, but not too bad either. I'm hoping my legs will regenerate soon because my run today was a bit of a struggle, but I'm feeling good about the times I've been putting out recently.